PLETTENBERG LENNE-PROMENADE




PARK

SEMI-OPEN LANDSCAPE
ARCHITECTURAL COMPETITION

2. PRIZE

Along the course of the Lenne, different steps are scheduled to upgrade the open space qualities along the waterfront. These include the establishment of crosstown connections and the renaturation of certain parts of the river. In the Plettenberg area, the open spaces along the shore are distinguished by different features of landscape and urban design. Considering these traits, an intrinsic characteristic for each side of the river is to be developed.

The planned promenade along the northern shore connects the linear shape of the river with the rectangular corridor of the Bredde quarter. The concise buildings of the St.-Johannes-Baptist church and the train station emphasize the course of the promenade. Being the most important connection between the train station and the Lenne, the Heinrichstraße is extended until the promenade. A balcony in front accentuates the endpoint of the urban corridor.

Besides the main axis between the train station and the promenade, additional corridors are conceivable as complementary connections between the city and river basin. Along the waterfront, these are marked by seating steps or small balconies.

The southern shore is to be framed by a park, stretching along the Böddinghauser Weg to the old Lenne bridge.The waterfront and the adjoining neighbourhood of Böddinghausen are of stronger scenic shape. To this, the flowforms of the Lenne are picked up on in the planned Lennepark. Besides a soft near-naturally shaped edge, a tender sloping down of the terrain towards the water is designated.

The park is structured by two paths, accompanying the shoreline and facilitating a stronger connection to the water. At the bottlenecks of the shore, small squares are implemented, linking the adjacent quarters. Along the pathways, seating furniture and loungers provide different opportunities to stay at the waterfront.

ClientStadt Plettenberg
Team
Competition
Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Rita Leal, Kerstin Paul, Anna Vogels, Tim Wildner
Year10/2012
TagsCompetitions, Park, Waterfront, Green Space

PLETTENBERG LENNEPROMENADE




UFERPARK

BEGRENZT-OFFENER
LANDSCHAFTS-
ARCHITEKTONISCHER
WETTBEWERB

2. PREIS

Entlang der ‘Lenne-Schiene’ sind unterschiedliche Maßnahmen vorgesehen, um die Freiraumqualitäten des Flußufers aufzuwerten. Dazu gehören der Aufbau ortsübergreifender Verbindungen und eine stellenweise Renaturierung des Flusses. Im Bereich Plettenberg weisen die uferbegleitenden Freiräume jeweils unterschiedliche landschaftsräumliche und städtebauliche Eigenarten auf. Unter Einbeziehung dieser Merkmale soll für jede Flussseite eine eigene Charakteristik entwickelt werden.

Die geplante Promenade entlang des Nordufers verbindet die lineare Ausprägung des Flußlaufs mit den rechtwinklig dazu liegenden Korridoren des Stadtteils Bredde. Die Kirche St.-Johannes-Baptist und der Bahnhof akzentuieren als prägnante Bauten den Promenadenverlauf. Als wichtigste Verbindung zwischen Bahnhof und Lenne wird die Heinrichstraße bis zur Uferpromenade verlängert. Ein vorgelagerter Balkon betont den Endpunkt des Stadtkorridors.

Neben der Hauptachse zwischen Bahnhof und Uferpromenade sind weitere Korridore als ergänzende Verbindungen zwischen Stadt und Flußraum denkbar. Im Uferbereich sind diese jeweils durch Sitzstufen oder kleine Balkone gekennzeichnet.

Das Südufer soll künftig durch einen Park eingefasst werden, der sich entlang des Böddinghauser Wegs bis zur alten Lenne-Brücke erstreckt. Das Ufer und der angrenzende Stadtteil Böddinghausen sind stärker landschaftlich geprägt. Für den geplanten Lennepark werden dazu die Fließformen der Lenne aufgegriffen. Neben einer ‚weichen‘, naturnah ausgebildeten Uferkante ist ein sanftes Abfallen der Fläche zum Wasser hin vorgesehen.

Die Parkfläche wird durch zwei Wege gegliedert, die den Uferverlauf begleiten und einen stärkeren Wasserbezug ermöglichen. An den Engstellen des Ufers entstehen kleine Plätze, die jeweils zu den angrenzenden Quartieren verbinden. Entlang des Wegeverlaufs bieten Sitzmöbel und Liegen unterschiedliche Aufenthaltsmöglichkeiten am Flußufer an.

AuftraggeberStadt Plettenberg
Team
Wettbewerb
Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Rita Leal, Kerstin Paul, Anna Vogels, Tim Wildner
Jahr10/2012
BegriffeWettbewerbe, Uferräume, Parkräume, Grünräume