PULHEIM NORDPARK




LANDSCAPE PARK

COMPETITION
BY INVITATION

1. PRIZE

The park is located between Pulheim’s northern limits and the surrounding agricultural landscape. Dirt paths, tree-lined alleys and parceled lots mark the characteristic elements of the meadow landscape. In the transition between city and countryside, the expansive view of the adjoining fields is particularly impressive. Its spatial character is defined by staggered rows of trees, scattered woodlands and farms, and industrial buildings along the horizon.

By the year 2030, the city limits of Pulheim are to be encompassed by an elongated park on the northwestern edge. It is assumed that over a period of approximately 20 years, the further development of the park will be subject to a number of unforeseeable factors.

The concept of the park is thus intended to allow for adjustments and alterations while retaining a recognizable overall design. We propose a spatial network of roads and meadows, which makes use of existing dirt paths, alleys and parceled fields.

The public areas of the park include the main paths, splendid views and spatial relationships. They mediate between urban structures and expansive views, and designate the characteristic features of the landscape.

Depending on the different needs and initiatives of the surrounding community, the remaining areas may be additionally “filled” with diverse functions over time, operating as semi-private outdoor areas that fluctuate between extensive and intensive use.

The proposed design concept deliberately disregards a fixed allocation of areas. The spatial elements of the design focus on preserving and strengthening existing scenic qualities. In contrast, the temporal elements of the design allow for adjustments and transformations over an extended period of time.

ClientStadt Pulheim (Regionale 2010 Projekt)
Team
Competition
Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Anna Vogels, Christina Bös, Rita Leal, Alexandra Blechschmidt, Anne Wex, Norman Jans, Sumika Aizawa
Year06/2008
TagsCompetitions, Park, Realizations, Green Space, Landscape Park, Development Concept

PULHEIM NORDPARK




LANDSCHAFTSPARK

IDEEN- UND
REALISIERUNGS-
WETTBEWERB

1. PREIS

Der Nordpark liegt zwischen Pulheims Stadtkante und der angrenzenden Agrarlandschaft. Zu den charakteristischen Elementen der Feldflur gehören Feldwege, Alleen und parzellierte Felder. Im Übergang zwischen Stadt und Landschaft wirkt die angrenzende Weite der Felder besonders eindrucksvoll. Sie wird strukturiert durch die Staffelung von Baumreihen, Waldstücken, Gehöften und Industrieobjekten entlang der Horizontlinie.

Bis zum Jahr 2030 soll die nordwestliche Stadtkante Pulheims durch ein Parkband eingefasst werden. Möglich wäre eine weitgehende Übernahme der Parkflächen durch die Gemeinde. Alternativ ist aber auch ein Nebeneinander aus öffentlichen und privaten Freiflächen denkbar. Der Nordpark könnte neben öffentlich unterhaltenen Flächen auch eine Vielzahl von privat genutzten Freiflächen umfassen.

Entsprechend muss das Parkkonzept Anpassungen und Veränderungen zulassen, gleichzeitig aber eine erkennbare Gestalt ausbilden. Dazu wird ein räumliches Gerüst aus Wegen und Feldern vorgeschlagen.

Das Parkgerüst besteht aus drei Wegetypen: der Horizontallee, der Felderpromenade und den Querungen. Es umfasst zwei Feldtypen: die offenen Felder und die Parzellen. Komplementär dazu können die übrigen Flächen je nach Bedarf und Initiative als private Freiflächen mit unterschiedlichen Inhalten belegt werden.

Die Elemente des Parkgerüstes knüpfen an das bestehende Gefüge aus Feldwegen und Alleen sowie die parzellierte Feldflur an. Die öffentlichen Flächen des Gerüstes sichern die wichtigsten Wege-, Blick- und Raumbeziehungen. Sie vermitteln zwischen Stadtstruktur und Weite und sie inszenieren die charakteristischen Merkmale der Landschaft.

AuftraggeberStadt Pulheim (Regionale 2010 Projekt)
Team
Wettbewerb
Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Anna Vogels, Christina Bös, Rita Leal, Alexandra Blechschmidt, Anne Wex, Norman Jans, Sumika Aizawa
Jahr06/2008
BegriffeWettbewerbe, Realisierungen, Entwicklungskonzept, Landschaftspark, Parkräume, Grünraum