DUISBURG WEDAU SOUTH OPEN SPACES GARDEN CITY 




OPEN SPACE CONCEPT

CLOSED ONE-PHASE
OPEN SPACE PLANNING COMPETITION

2. PRIZE

The district of Wedau-South covers an area of about 60ha. The urban design framework provides for a reinterpretation of the Gartenstadt. The planned building typologies range from town houses, row and double houses to single-family houses. Taking these requirements into account, the open space design undertakes a number of urban design tasks. Hence, a superordinate open space framework, ensuring the connection and orientation within the district, is being proposed. The individual characteristics of the concept though emphasize the particular qualities of the four different quarters of the Garden City. Th open space design distinguishes between superior and quarter-related settlement.

The superordinate open space framework integrates the districts into a spatial context and supports orientation within the neighbourhood. Therefore main and secondary paths as well as crossings receive their particular character.

In north-south direction, the main access is combined into two elongated main axes. The axes are composed of individual sections and are framed on both sides by tree rows. The offsett between the individual sections indicate the respective neighbourhood transitions. At the same time, they pass to the crossroads in east-west direction. In contrast to the main axes, crossings and subordinate pathways are only accompanied by a single row of trees on one side.

A total of three crossings are inserted in east-west direction between the quarters. They each mark the transition between two quarters. In order to support orientation in the district, the settlement of the copses emphasizes the clearest possible sight. Tying in with the functional requirements, each crossing receives its own thematic assignment.

The landscape construction accompanies the eastern flank of the district as a green backbone. Taking up the adjoining crossings, the rampart is composed of different sections. The interfaces between the crossroads and the rampart are each emphasized by connections to the neighbouring districts and natural spaces, or by 'landscape windows' and viewpoints.

A uniform material usage, a detailed formation and furnishing throughout the entire district are suggested. A furniture family is proposed, which offers different seating and lounging opportunities and therefore addresses different user groups. The placing of the elements refers to the respective context. The elements can be grouped into different social situations.

ClientGEBAG Duisburger Baugesellschaft mbH, Duisburg
Team
Competition
Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Tim Wildner, Georgios Anagnostopoulos, Rita Leal, Thomas Reimann, Anton Fischer,Theresa Nitschke, Anne Gunia
Year06/2017
TagsCompetitions, Urban Square, Park, Waterfront, Green Space, Plaza, Open Space Concept

DUISBURG WEDAU SÜD FREIRÄUME NEUE GARTENSTADT




FREIRAUMKONZEPT

NICHT-OFFENER EINPHASIGER
FREIRAUMPLANERISCHER
WETTBEWERB

2. PREIS

Der Stadtteil Wedau-Süd erstreckt sich über eine Fläche von etwa 60ha. Der städtebauliche Rahmenplan sieht eine Neuinterpretation der Gartenstadt vor. Die geplanten Gebäudetypologien reichen von Stadthäusern, Reihen- und Doppelhäusern bis hin zu Einfamilienhäusern. Unter Berücksichtigung dieser Vorgaben übernimmt der Freiraumentwurf eine Reihe von städtebauliche Aufgaben. Vorgeschlagen wird dazu ein übergeordnetes Freiraumgerüst, das Zusammenhang und Orientierung innerhalb des Stadtteils sichert. Dagegen betonen die individuellen Eigenarten des Konzeptes die Standortqualitäten der vier unterschiedlichen Quartiere der Gartenstadt.

Das übergeordnete Freiraumgerüst bindet die Quartiere in einen räumlichen Zusammenhang ein und unterstützt die Orientierung innerhalb des Stadtteils. Dazu erhalten Haupt- und Nebenwege sowie Querungen jeweils einen eigenen Charakter.

In Nord-Süd-Richtung wird die Haupterschließung in zwei langgestreckten Hauptachsen zusammengefasst. Die Achsen setzen sich aus einzelnen Abschnitten zusammen und werden jeweils beidseitig durch Baumreihen eingerahmt. Die Versatze zwischen den einzelnen Abschnitten zeigen jeweils die Quartiersübergänge an. Gleichzeitig leiten sie zu den Querungen in Ost-West-Richtung über.

Im Kontrast zu den Hauptachsen werden Querungen und untergeordnete Wegeverbindungen nur einseitig durch eine Gehölzreihe begleitet. Zwischen den Quartieren sind insgesamt drei Querungen in Ost-West-Richtung eingefügt. Sie markieren jeweils den Übergang zwischen zwei Quartieren. Um die Orientierung im Stadtteil zu unterstützen, betont die Gehölzsetzung jeweils eine möglichst freie Durchsicht. Anknüpfend an die jeweiligen funktionalen Anforderungen erhält jede Querung eine eigene thematische Belegung.

Das Landschaftsbauwerk begleitet als grünes Rückgrat die Ostflanke des Stadtteils. Anknüpfend an die anschließenden Querungen setzt sich der Wall aus einzelnen Abschnitten zusammen. Die Schnittstellen zwischen Querungen und Wall werden jeweils durch Verbindungen zu den benachbarten Stadtteilen und Naturräumen oder durch ‘Landschaftsfenster’ und Aussichtspunkte betont.

Über den gesamten Stadtteil hinweg ist eine einheitliche Materialverwendung, Detailausbildung sowie Möblierung vorgesehen. Vorgeschlagen wird eine Möbelfamilie, die unterschiedliche Sitz- und Liegemöglichkeiten anbietet und sich damit an unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen richtet..

AuftraggeberGEBAG Duisburger Baugesellschaft mbH, Duisburg
Team
Wettbewerb
Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Tim Wildner, Georgios Anagnostopoulos, Rita Leal, Thomas Reimann, Anton Fischer,Theresa Nitschke, Anne Gunia
Jahr06/2017
BegriffePlatzräume, aktuell, Freiraumkonzepte, Stadtplätze, Uferräume, Parkräume, Grünräume