DEGGENDORF DONAUPARK




WATERSIDE PARK
PEDESTRIAN BRIDGE
NATIONAL HORTICULTURAL SHOW

OPEN IDEA AND
REALIZATION COMPETITION

3. PRIZE

The planned dike construction divides the territory between Deggendorf and the Danube into foreland and hinterland. The two areas differ from one another because of their locational advantages: The dyke foreland extends along the Danube as an elongated riverbank. In contrast, the dyke hinterland increases the distance between the river and the city. A similarly ambivalent urban impact is emanated by the dyke structure itself. As a prolonged promenade, it allows for overview and orientation, yet at the same time it acts as a barrier towards the city.

The main starting points of the design are the mitigation of the barrier effect of the dyke structure and the establishment of a stronger connection between the urban areas, the dyke promenade and the river bank. In order to revaluate the existing spatial situation, the design focuses on three main elements, namely:

  • The dike promenade,
  • a tree grove along the Neusiedlerstraße and
  • a series of crossings between the city and the Danube shore lines.

The existing railway bridge functions as an important element in the river landscape due to its size and construction. The new pedestrian bridge, which runs directly in front of it, is to maintain this impression. For this purpose, a structure as filigree as possible is proposed.

CooperationKrone Ingenieure Berlin
Team
Competition
Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Tim Wildner, Christina Bös, Rita Leal, Anne Wex, Alexandra Blechschmidt, Norman Jans
Year10/2008
TagsCompetitions, Park, Waterfront, Green Space, Development-Concept

DEGGENDORF DONAUPARK




UFERPARKFUSSGÄNGERBRÜCKELANDESGARTENSCHAU

OFFENER IDEEN-
UND REALISIERUNGS-
WETTBEWERB

3. PREIS

Das geplante Deichbauwerk teilt die Fläche zwischen Deggendorf und Donau in Vorland und Hinterland. Die beiden Bereiche unterscheiden sich voneinander durch ihre Lagegunst: Das Deichvorland begleitet als lang gestreckter Uferraum die Donau. Dagegen vergrößert das Deichhinterland die Distanz zwischen Stadt und Fluß. Eine ähnlich ambivalente städtebauliche Wirkung geht auch vom Deichbauwerk selbst aus. Als langgestreckte Promenade erlaubt sie Überblick und Orientierung. Gleichzeitig wirkt sie stadtseitig als Barriere.

Wesentliche Ansatzpunkte des Entwurfs sind die Abmilderung der Barrierewirkung des Deichbauwerks und eine stärkere Verknüpfung der Stadträume mit der Deichpromenade und dem Uferbereich. Um die bestehende räumliche Situation umzuwerten konzentriert sich der Entwurf auf drei Hauptelemente. Dazu gehören:

  • die Deichpromenade,
  • ein Baumhain entlang der Neusiedler Straße
  • sowie eine Reihe von Querungen zwischen Stadt und Donauufer.

Die vorhandene Eisenbahnbrücke ist durch Dimension und Konstruktion ein prägendes Element in der Flusslandschaft. Die neue, direkt davor verlaufende Fußgängerbrücke soll diesen Eindruck erhalten. Dazu wird eine möglichst filigrane Konstruktion vorgeschlagen.

10/2008

Ulrike Böhm, Cyrus Zahiri, Katja Benfer, Tim Wildner, Christina Bös, Rita Leal, Anne Wex, Alexandra Blechschmidt, Norman Jans